Our Vision

CAST sets out to enhance research capabilities, promote knowledge exchange, and facilitate the sharing of resources and expertise between AAD, CSIRO and UTAS.

The Centre fulfils an important priority in the Australian Antarctic Strategy and 20-Year Action Plan, to advance Australia’s interests in Antarctica by building Tasmania’s and Hobart’s status as a global Antarctic and Southern Ocean hub.


The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) plays a significant role in Antarctic and Southern Ocean technologies. CSIRO engages in the development of innovative technologies for Antarctic and Southern Ocean research. This includes the design and deployment of specialised instruments, sensors, and autonomous platforms that can withstand extreme conditions and collect data in challenging environments. Examples of such technologies include underwater gliders, moorings, robotic systems, and advanced sampling devices.


The University of Tasmania (UTAS) offers specialised educational programs and training opportunities in Antarctic and Southern Ocean sciences and technologies. This includes undergraduate and postgraduate courses, fieldwork training, and research opportunities for students and early-career scientists. UTAS is also involved in the development and deployment of innovative marine and Antarctic technologies. This includes the design and construction of specialised research vessels, remotely operated vehicles (ROVs), autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs), and other oceanographic instruments.


The Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) carries out scientific research and manages Australia's Antarctic stations and icebreaker RSV Nuyina, providing year-round support for scientific research, logistical services, and facilities for scientists and expeditioners working in Antarctica. Through its suite of activities, the AAD aims to contribute scientific knowledge, protect the environment, and ensure Australia's presence and active engagement in Antarctica's governance and conservation efforts.

Headshot_Toni Moate

Toni Moate


Toni Moate is CSIRO’s Director, National Collections and Marine Infrastructure, which includes the Marine National Facility, Engineering & Technology, Atlas of Living Australia, and National Research Collections Australia.

As the Director, National Collections and Marine Infrastructure, Toni is responsible for ensuring CSIRO’s national collections and marine infrastructure are effectively positioned, managed and utilised for long term financial sustainability and support science delivery in the national interest.

In 2015 Toni was awarded the Public Service Medal for outstanding public service in Australian marine and atmospheric science, as part of the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. This was followed in 2017 when Toni was awarded the Tasmanian Telstra Business Woman of the Year.

Toni was the chair of the CAST Committee in 2023.


Terry Bailey


Terry Bailey is the Executive Dean for the College of Sciences and Engineering (CoSE) and former Executive Director of the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies.

Terry's experience includes working for the Commonwealth, NSW and Victorian governments, as well as working closely with other state and territory governments and local government, including as Chief Executive of the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage.

Terry has extensive experience working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, including in relation to Indigenous economic development and joint management of protected areas.

Terry is a Commissioner for the Independent Planning Commission (NSW), Chair of the National Parks and Wildlife Advisory Council (Tas) and Board member of the Commonwealth's Sydney Harbour Federation Trust.

Terry was chair of the CAST Committee in 2021 and 2022.


Phil Boxall


Phil Boxall is the acting General Manager of the Assets and Technology Branch at the Australian Antarctic Division (AAD). Phil’s position is responsible for planning, maintaining and managing the large suite of Antarctic infrastructure and assets in Antarctic, the sub Antarctic and in Tasmania and providing platforms, capabilities and systems to successfully operationalise science within the Australian Antarctic Program (AAP). Phil is responsible for leading the Branch to facilitate and enhance the value and impact of AAP activities through providing strategic and expert advice in technology and innovation; developing and managing new capabilities and emerging technologies for operations, facilities and equipment; & leveraging Australian and international partnerships to enhance technical capabilities.

Phil is the current chair of the CAST Committee .

Delphine-Lannuzel pro1

Delphine Lannuzel


Delphine Lannuzel is a Professor at the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS). Delphine is known for her expertise in polar marine chemistry, biogeochemical cycles, and the impacts of climate change on polar environments. Delphine leads CAST’s Program 1.


Megan Woods


Megan Woods specialises in research and teaching related to management, human resource management and research methods. As the leader of UTAS's Future Polar Workforce initiative, Megan established the Future Polar Workforce research group, and co-authored the Future of Work and Workforce in the Antarctic and Southern Ocean released in 2023. Megan leads CAST's Program 2.

Brett Muir

Brett Muir


Brett Muir is the Research Group Leader of the Instrumentation and Electronics Group within the Engineering and Technology Program at CSIRO. He has a keen interest in development of reliable and versatile electronic systems, and integration of commercial scientific instruments with consumer electronics and in-house engineering to form novel scientific research systems.



Jonathan Kool


Johnathan Kool is the Director of the Australian Antarctic Data Centre (AADC). Johnathan has continuously worked at the interface of science and information technology. He has a scientific background in marine biology and oceanography, as well as technical experience working with high-performance computing systems and large-scale data delivery. Johnathan leads CAST’s Program 4.

Scroll to Top